Monthly Archives: April 2015

Helping with Explore MTBoS

(This is a reiteration of Tina’s post here.)

Last Saturday, as NCTM Boston was wrapping up, Tina and I kicked off a round of Explore MTBoS. It’s an introduction to reading blogs and tweeting as professional learning, as well as an exploration of the many resources and projects that the fine folks of the MTBoS have created and shared.

Participating in the activities might be a great fit for you. If so, join in!

Or maybe you have a colleague who is ready to take their professional development into a ongoing, online space. Please recommend Explore MTBoS to them!

If you have some experience with blogs and Twitter, here are some ways that you can help newcomers during this Explore event:

  • There will be several #MTBoS chats this week as newcomers start up their Twitter accounts. Each chat will last for 30 minutes. Please stop by and say hello!Monday (April 27): 4pm ET / 1pm PT and 7pm ET / 4pm PT

    Thursday (April 29): 9pm ET / 6pm PT

    Next Saturday morning (May 2): 9am ET and noon ET / 9am PT

  • Even if you can’t come to those specific chat times, maybe you’ll try and keep an eye on the #MTBoS hashtag this week. Say hello and answer people’s questions!
  • Week 3 of Explore is about Organization—keeping track of everything one runs across online. Do you have a blog post where you discuss how you stay on top of things in a way that works for you? Please let me know about it! Or if you don’t have such a post, take this as encouragement to write one and to let me know. It’d be great to share the fruits of your experience!

Thanks!

Advertisements

#MTBoS Booth Opens Tomorrow!

I don’t know how to reblog from Blogger, so I’ll just point you over to Tina’s post about the #MTBoS Booth manually. If you’re attending the NCTM Annual Meeting & Expo in Boston this week, please stop by Booth 841 to say hi!

I do want to highlight one of Tina’s paragraphs, though:

An even better way to deal with your #BostonJealousyCamp woes? Check out when the next math conference near you will be. See if they have an exhibit hall. Ask if you can get a deal for MTBoS – for NCTM, a booth comes with 6 free registrations, for the price of 6 registrations. So we gathered 6 people, NCTM helped us pool our funding internally and ended up with a booth! Then they helped us out with the carpet and table. Justin and I have done all the work already, and we did it really strategically. We saved our to do lists and descriptions and emails. There’s a google drive folder just waiting for someone to say they want to run a #MTBoS booth at their next conference. We’ll ship you some supplies. The rest you can print from all the stuff we’ve saved in organized folders. You could have your own scavenger hunt! So don’t be sad, get planning. Make this the first of many opportunities for the math teachers of the world to learn there’s an amazing online community just waiting to talk to them about content and pedagogy and more.

I hope to see you at a MTBoS booth soon—either during my time in Boston on Saturday, or at the booth you help to coordinate at a future conference! Happy scheming!